Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 04-03-09, 12:57 AM   #1
basaunders23
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Just Bought A 6ft Lightning Rod Shock

Hello everyone, my name is Brett and I am new to these forums. I have got a question for you all. I just bought a 6ft lightning rod shock and i use an Abu Garcia Cardinal reel. Ive been fishing for about 4-5 years now and i have always used mono filament line. I usually fish ponds, and on the weekends i fish in a bigger lake. My bait of choice would be a plastic worm, but i also use small spinners, and other small swimming baits.This year i was thinking about getting some of the berkley fireline crystal because it is recommended to use braided line on the information that came with the rod. I was just wondering if this is a good move or if i should stick with the mono filament. I really would like to try out the braided line but after reading through these forums i have seen some people claiming to have quite a few problems with these line. I was also reading that you should try leading the braided line with mono filament because the braided line is visible to the fish, and i was wondering if this is really necessary and if it will make a big difference if i do this, or if it is even needed. Thank you all for your help, I am excited to be a part of this community.
basaunders23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-09, 02:03 AM   #2
chase_cooley5308
BassFishin.Com Member

welcome to the forums brett! nice to have ya!
chase_cooley5308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-09, 07:55 AM   #3
Bassboss
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

First off, welcome to the forum!