Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 06-30-08, 10:02 AM   #1
windycitybass
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Baitcasters & fishing line

Hi guys.... I'm wondering if you could offer any tips about line selection for baitcasting reels. I am new to baitcasting, and have been experiencing issues with backlash. I was wondering if I should try a new line that may help against this. I have put on Stren original (I believe it's a monofilament, but I'm not certain of that either). Is there something that may be more baitcasting friendly?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
windycitybass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 10:16 AM   #2
Fishnngolfn
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

It took me a couple of hours of practicing with my new baitcaster so I didn't backlash. I also had a fishing buddy set it up with the brakes and magnets. I don't know what he did but I can cast it about 35 to 40 yards. I have switched to a braided line and it is a lot easier to cast. I just make sure I keep my thumb on the line to help keep the lure under control. I make sure I stop the line once the lure hits the water. Others here will likely have better suggestions. I was just lucky to have a buddy do all the initial hard setup work for me.
Fishnngolfn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 11:01 AM   #3
Jim80

your thumb is your best friend with your baitcaster, the bright side of braid is it is easier to untangle when you do backlash but even using mono once you get used to it it shouln't be a problem . just set the cast control to it's max and the magnetic brake at it's max as well and back them off as you get more comfortable .
Old 06-30-08, 12:10 PM   #4
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144