Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 07-02-06, 11:45 PM   #1
ironman
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

Send a message via AIM to ironman
Wink new fish finder

i just got my first fish \ depth finder and what do you look for in the water that is really good for fishing i think i have heard like holes and drop offs are good but i dont know what should i look for
ironman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 01:54 AM   #2
vagabond
BassFishin.Com Active Member

I'm not an expert but we look for change in the bottom. Hills, holes, cliffs...anything that is different from the rest. Plus it's nice to know the depth of the water you're in sometimes.
vagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 01:59 AM   #3
BassMoJo

Send a message via AIM to BassMoJo
Arrow

Yea man look for drop offs and stuff like that .. but also keep an eye out for downed trees lilly pads ...weeds etc.. try to get as close to them as possible or even in them if u have ur stuff set up right !
BassMoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 11:20 AM   #4
zooker
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

iron man
what kind did ya get? what cone angle?
i normally set mine -up front- to see basic depth. my front depth finder also shows water temp and voltage.the depth you are fishing is important a lot of the time. it will show drop offs and ledges. very rare does it show stumps-they show up as solid bottom struture-it on occasion shows fish. i have it set so it anit looking for fish.. depth finders tend to lie when it hits a school of bait. it shows a bunch of fish in a group. this is bait, any single fish marked if possable under the bait by more than a few feet is the predator fish..

look carefully right behind the temp reading. that is suspended bait fish.. the fish near the bottom are likly small cat fish.

zooker
Old 07-03-06, 11:25 AM   #5
ironman