Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 05-25-08, 09:53 PM   #1
freakyfish
BassFishin.Com Member

Default braid on spinning reels

can you put braid on spinning reels? how does it cast?do you hav't to use a leader?
freakyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-08, 10:57 PM   #2
pignjig
BassFishin.Com Active Member

You can absolutely spool braid on a spinning reel. I've been using PowerPro for a few years (25# green) and have had very few problems. After it "breaks in", it should cast better than mono or fluoro. As far as a leader, you'll get a thousand different opinions. I only use a leader if I'm throwing a Carolina-rig, dead sticking or float-n-fly. Any time you're around good cover or pretty stained water, you shouldn't need a leader. Also, this might help: Braid will cut you bone deep and quick. I usually wrap it around my arm (if wearing long sleeves) or a short piece of broom handle to break it off after getting snagged. Braid will dig into your spool if you pull too hard when snagged. And last, adjust your drag tension. Braid has no stretch so a sledgehammer hookset might jerk that bait out of that hawg's mouth (or literally rip it's mouth apart). I use the ol' Homer Circle-style snap hookset and have had very few problems.

Good luck with the line!

-Pig
pignjig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-08, 02:41 AM   #3
vagabond

I use braid on my spinning reels. The only problem that I've had was with ten pound test braid. I think it was too fine and for some reason the reel wouldn't always bring it in if there was resistance...snag or a fish. Sometimes it worked fine and sometimes not at all. I don't know if it was my reel or not but after I switched to heavier line I didn't have that problem any more.
vagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-08, 10:15 AM   #4
Bob Smith
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

ABSOLUTELY!