Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 10-20-13, 02:28 PM   #1
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Default Last outting 2013 report.

Well, the fishing wasn't bad but it wasn't the best this past Friday, the 18th. But I had a great time and now have a new favorite body of water to fish, Lake Worster. I landed 5 small large mouth and a few wipers. And one sizable gizzard shad. Air temp was in the low 60's, partly cloudy and about a 15 mph wind. All but one of the fish were caught on a rocky flat at the entrance to a large bay. The first bass came on a spinner bait near a laydown, and all the other fish were taken on a Xcaliber lipless crank in Sexy Momma color. I am convinced now that lipless cranks work well in some waters and poorly in others. In my local lakes I have been throwing them for 20 years and have had minimal success at best, with 99% coming in early spring. And that's just a couple a day if at all. However, the fish at lake Worster eat them up! I'm not sure what the difference is, except that lake Worster is a man made impoundment, and has less vegetation, plenty of rocky lake bed, and a shad food base. All of which my local natural lakes lack, except for Flint Lake, which did have some shad for a couple years, but they are mainly gone now from what I can tell. The shad in Flint Lake were never legally introduced but showed up one year. Now it's time to put the boat away and prepare for winter.