Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 04-10-12, 08:06 PM   #1
bigjim
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default am i missing something here?

ok, ive read that a slower presentation in cold water is key, since the bass are somewhat lethargic and using a jig will potentially trigger more strikes, but then ive heard/read in early spring when the water is cold burning a Rat L trap is a great producer for catching Bass...so which is it? slow or fast?
bigjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-12, 08:10 PM   #2
Marty
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I'm no expert, but it could be both. You might need slow to elicit a feeding strike, but fast for a reaction strike.

The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

Rochester, NY
Marty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-12, 09:54 PM   #3
BassMoJo
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

Send a message via AIM to BassMoJo

What Marty said....your fishing that jig slower and covering less water a bass may or may not move to eat it. With the trap your covering more water run it by her head and she won't have much of a choice nothing but a reaction bite.
Old 04-11-12, 07:14 AM   #4
joedog

I find the Rats work better Yo-yoed or similar retrieve better in cold water as opposed to burning them.
Again, just me.
Old 04-11-12, 09:09 AM   #5
matt3mckee
BassFishin.Com Member