Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-22-09, 06:13 PM   #1
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Default Painting spinnerbait heads

I've been making my own spinnerbaits for a couple years now with thanks to Rebs guidence. Recently I got to using KVD's bluegill pattern spinnerbait and the success has been more than I expected. Lets say I've caught a few on it. Well, I would like to make my own versions of that spinnerbait. I've always used prepainted spinnerbait heads for making my own, however I can't find any heads with a bluegill colored finish. I'd like to have some that are olive green with an orange underside. I know how to use powdercoat paint for jig finishes. You dip the heated jighead into the little powdercoat paint bottle and hang to dry. But I can't see this working with a spinnerbait head. You won't be able to dip it into the bottle with the built in wire frame. So I was looking for tips for painting spinnerbait heads. Is there a way to powdercoat paint a spinnerbait heads or is there another prefered method to paint them?
keithdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-09, 06:56 PM   #2
bamabassman

i can't answer your question keith. but i sure would like to see some of your spiners. that is unless you don't want me to see em,lol. i think you could dip the hook end to the head and afterit cures scrap off the hook. does this make any sense? i truly don't know.
Old 05-22-09, 07:17 PM   #3
paducahbasser
BassFishin.Com Member

Can you paint it on with a small brush instead of dipping it? I have no clue, just a thought.
paducahbasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-09, 07:24 PM   #4
BigBassin144

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144