Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 12-09-11, 03:00 AM   #1
islandbass
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default Dressing Trebles

Hey guys! I don't appear to have the means to edit my original post on this topic with the updated photo bucket links so here it is for those who might be interested in wanting to dress treble hooks.

It is not only fun, but also allows you to customize the colors and materials you want to use. May you find it helpful.

-ib

How to Dress Trebles

By islandbass

This purpose of this tutorial is to demonstrate how I dress treble hooks with feathers and other materials such as bucktail, flashabou, or other materials. I am not an expert. I am a relative newbie to making them. This tutorial was put together to with the hope of sharing with the reader the steps I take to make dressed trebles based on my experience making them to date.

Tools Used:
Fly Tying Vise – Nothing fancy. The one I use is a cheap, low-tech sub $20 vise
Scissors
From Left to Right:
Hair Stacker (Optional)
Bobbin
Threader
Bodkin
Trebles

Dressing Materials Used and Other Items:
Head Cement (glue)
Dressing Items: Feathers (chicken feathers preferred), Flashabou, Bucktail*, etc.
Thread for tying (size 6/0)
Small plastic grocery bag (for waste material)
Roll of Tape (masking, packing, etc.)
Napkin

*Only flashabou and feathers were used in this tutorial.

Preparation of Tools and Hook

1) Securing Vise to Table and Treble to Vise
Now that you have everything you need, set up your vise and secure the hook. The hook should be fastened to the vise in the bend somewhere between the hook’s shank and the barb. The jaws of the vise should not cover the barb.

Note: If you are married and value the hard work that your wife does to keep the house clean, I highly recommend you do this in the garage. Dressing trebles and other fly tying materials is a guaranteed way to make a mess.