Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 11-18-08, 02:32 AM   #1
weezymagic
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Send a message via AIM to weezymagic
Default spooling baitcasters

i know this is probably a dumb question but im new to baitcasters

Is it easy to spool a baitcaster?
weezymagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-08, 03:19 AM   #2
islandbass
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Not a dumb question at all. Succinctly put, let's just say it is easier (ie, more convenient) to spool than a spinning reel.
Old 11-18-08, 03:46 AM   #3
weezymagic

how easy is it?
Old 11-18-08, 05:12 AM   #4
islandbass

Sorry, I thought you just wanted to know if it is hard or not.

I highly recommend getting a line spooling tool. There are a variety of types like these:

http://www.cabelas.com/prod-1/0003204113107a.shtml
There are 3 types on the screen at the above link.

If you don’t have one, it can still be done. Just insert a pencil through the spool’s center hole and keep it between your feet.

Before starting learn how to tie the arbor knot. This is the knot that some use to attach the line to the spool’s arbor. Some folks use tape, but I prefer to use the arbor knot.

Let us assume that the reel’s spool is empty.

With your reel attached to your rod, feed the line through the at least the rod guide closest to the reel. I like to use at least the first two to three guides closest to the reel.

You don’t have to use the rod guides but I do because it helps to keep the line straight and eliminates the line rubbing on anything other than the guides.

Feed the line through the reel’s line guide. This is the little hole that moves back and forth when you turn the handle.

Tie the arbor knot around the spool.

You are now ready to wind some line. You might find it easier to be sitting down.