Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 11-27-08, 08:35 PM   #1
fish2
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Send a message via AIM to fish2
Default tips for flippin'

hey I was wandering what I am doing wrong with my flippin. I'm not very good with it and I have been practicing it a lot. Why do I always end up with a birds nest and my bait never goes that far? I don't know if I'm not using the right weight or what or if I have my brake system set wrong?
Old 11-27-08, 08:45 PM   #2
woody
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I'm still learning too, I'm glad you asked that question.
woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-08, 08:51 PM   #3
pig n jig

For one thing, you have the technique names a bit backwards.

When Flipping you pull out enough line to where the jig reaches the depth your fishing and engage your reel and control the flipping with both the rod and line by hand.

Pitching is where you use your reel during the presentation.
pig n jig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-08, 08:59 PM   #4
pig n jig

The picture to the right is flipping.It is done in shallow water as the reel is not disengaged/engaged for the presentation.The line is controlled by hand by retreiving or releasing the amount of line needed.The only time you use the reel is to set the required line amount when the depth changes. I personaly do not flip in water deeper than 4 ft. Pitching uses the reel to underhand cast the jig to the designated target.
Attached Images

Last edited by pig n jig; 11-27-08 at 10:46 PM.
Old 11-27-08, 09:16 PM   #5
fish2

ha I thought I was doing something wrong and I was I was trying to put both techniques together. now it makes more sense thanks friend.
Old 11-27-08, 09:24 PM   #6
pig n jig

Adjusting the reel for pitching is sometimes difficult.This is really where you will notice a difference between reels.