Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Bass Boats, Trailers & Setups
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 05-13-07, 11:44 AM   #1
gdoss
BassFishin.Com Member

Unhappy Mercury bogs after running fine

Yes, I'm new to this stuff, but you guys always seem to help. I have a 2000 Merc 60 HP. It cranks fine and then I idle for about five minutes to open water. Then go up to full throttle and it runs up to 5500 RPM and really is running great for about 200 yds. Then it just boggs down to about 3500 and will not pick up. You can stop or idle back and it still has no power or RPM's above 3500 once you try to plane out. Let it rest for an hour or so and the same thing happens.
You got any ideas?

Sad in GA
gdoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 12:03 PM   #2
Rebbasser
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Welcome to the forum!

No expert by any stretch, but my first thought would be to check the fuel lines/filters for clogs. There might be something that clogs the fuel line when under pressure but when the engine is stopped it unclogs.

You also might run a can of Seafoam through it if you haven't recently done so-it cleans all the crud out of the engine. Just be sure to change the plugs after doing so-the Seafoam cleans the engine but it will also foul the plugs.
Old 05-13-07, 12:50 PM   #3
gdoss
BassFishin.Com Member

Checked all fuel lines and filters. Free flowing all the way to carburators. It does sound like it is starving, but it runs good for a short while.
Old 05-13-07, 06:40 PM   #4
zooker

check your gas tank vents sounds like it is not getting air to the tank..

zooker
Old 05-14-07, 10:25 AM   #5
bassbooger
BassFishin.Com Active Member