Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 12-30-08, 12:13 PM   #1
cassidyta
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Question Replacing line guides

I am an expert at replacing rod tips. I have several 6'2" and 5"10" rods to prove that, but I now have the need to replace a rod guide. I am not sure how, but the porcelin circle that fits in the line guide fell out. I figured out it was porcelin becuase my attempts to force it back into turned it into two half circles.
So the question is. How do you replace a single guide. I doubt that the rod is worth sending off to have replaced, but since it is the first one that my son bought on his own (Wally-world) I don't want to just scrap it.

Thanks
Old 12-30-08, 12:44 PM   #2
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144

Without sending it in, or without knowledge of rod making, you won't be able to fix it. You'd have to cut the guide off, but a new one, and rewrap it, which is a lot harder than it seems. Then you'd have to coat the thread with a color preserver so it doesn't fade, and then coat it with an epoxy and slowly rotate it for about 12hrs. It's not easy to do when you know how to and have the right tools, but without the knowledge or tools, it's very hard.

BB
Old 12-30-08, 12:47 PM   #3
cassidyta

Thanks BB
Doesn't sound like my idea of painted duct tape would work well.
Old 12-30-08, 12:55 PM   #4
BigBassin144

Most likely not. What kind of rod is it and how much was it?

BB
Old 12-30-08, 12:57 PM   #5
carolina-rig-01

we have a local bait shop around here that can do that type of rod repair. you might ask around and see if you can find someone out there that does it.
Old 12-30-08, 12:57 PM   #6
cassidyta

It is a Penn spinner combo that my son spent $60 on. Worse case scenario, I will get a new rod and try to replace it before he notices. (Since it broke while I was cleaning the garage)