Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Bass Boats, Trailers & Setups

Old 02-21-11, 05:58 PM   #1
Champion5
BassFishin.Com Member

Question Newb Here 1st question

Hello all! I have been visiting your forum for awhile now and have learned a ton about fishing. I am a newb so there was no reason to sign up and participate in discussion since I am just reading and learning. I do have a question now and will take any help I can get. I just booked a slip at my local marina all summer long. I have a 2007 Champion 183CX and it's new home will be at the dock, in the water. I plan to take her out every couple weeks and give her a good cleaning. My question is, is there anything I need to upgrade or add to my boat that would be required to leave it wet docked all summer. I don't think this is very common for a bass boat, but getting it to and from the dock every time I want to go fish is a big pain. I talked with a couple boat shop owners and they only really recommended anti-fowling paint on the bottom. They also said if I can get her up to speed (over 50-60mph) once a week it would clean off the bottom. My main concern is I have a plastic drain plug that screws in and if water would get in the boat I do not have an auto turn on bilge. Any help would be awesome. I also want to that everyone on here for all the great info I've taken from this sight over the last several months.
Champion5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-11, 06:29 PM   #2
lilmule
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Myself im not a fan of leaving a bb out in the weather,the finish clearcoat will dull in the direct sun,as for an auto bilge pump easy to install,cabelas or bass pro shop will have them,a small amount of 3/4 hose and a hose clamp routed out a vent on rear deck,once hooked to the battery will keep it relatively dry as long as battery is good,they will however drain the battery eventually.