Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 10-10-06, 02:47 PM   #1
FishinWrestler
BassFishin.Com Member

Default topwater

Since i am new to bass fishing i was wondering some basics tips on when and how to use them. Also witch ones work best in the fall.
FishinWrestler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-06, 03:01 PM   #2
JB
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Several topwater lures come to mind, the buzzbait, the popR, Jitterbug.

The most common areas to throw topwater is shallow water(but not always) 1-5 ft.
you can throw a buzzbait and reel it back, if you see a bass take it, wait a second or so to set the hook. Also you can run the buzzbait into objects and deflect off of them as you reel it back
The other two lures ..the popR and jitterbug, you can reel a few times, let it sit, then continue..OR, you can pop both as much as you want all the way back to ya.
Try repeated cast over the same areas with all top water.
My personal preference with the popR is to cast it, let it set, then start a cadence of one of two pulls, let it set for a second, then repeat.
many on here like to have a steady retrieve with the jitterbug.
I'd get a 4 or 5 inch buzzbait, in white or black skirt, and start throwing it, you 'll have some fun!

JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-06, 05:14 PM   #3
ToPwAt'R GuY
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

JB is right but to add on to this another great lure is scum frogs. If you fish clear water you can usually find suspended bass in deep water. For me topwaters can slay a lot of bass in this situation.
ToPwAt'R GuY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-06, 08:01 PM   #4
FishinWrestler
BassFishin.Com Member

Is there a good top water bite in the morning or in the evening, and which time of year is best to throw them. Thanks for all the advice.
Old 10-10-06, 10:43 PM   #5
keithdog