Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 02-02-07, 11:27 AM   #1
brushhog
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default What about hooks?

You guys are a fountain of information! I've read tons already about line, reels, rods and every lure/bait imagineable. The strand about start up tackle was great. I enjoyed everyones different opinions/ideas, I may have to mortgage the house for the list I'm keeping! What about hooks? size, type etc.. mosatly we fish soft plastics... Remember I'm new to this walk me through it...
brushhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 12:25 PM   #2
JB
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

I use gammys, offset, but most hooks now adays are pretty sharp!
JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 12:29 PM   #3
Bender

I have used Gammy, Diiachi, and for the most part I am getting Owner hooks now. I think that a lot of it is personal preference when it comes to the "top of the line" hook companies. They all are pretty sharp, but they all offer some different styles.
Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 01:58 PM   #4
Rebbasser

Brushhog, hooks are one of those areas that WON'T break the bank . For the vast majority of soft plastics I use a 2/0, 3/0, or 4/0 Gamakatsu Extra Wide Gap, or EWG hook:

The numbers indicate the size-the larger the number, the larger the hook. 3/0 and 4/0 are the ones I use most, with 2/0 for smaller baits and tubes.

In another post you mentioned wacky rigging. For those I use a Gamakatsu wide gap finesse hook. This one is a weedless model:

Which is good for fishing around cover, but I use the one without the weedguard for the vast majority of my wacky rigging. If you get a few packs of those you will be good to go for pretty much any soft plastic.
Old 02-02-07, 05:08 PM   #5
Other
BassFishin.Com Member