Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 09-09-12, 04:16 PM   #1
Crankbait
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default light weight rod

Hey guys I love the light weight of the carrot stick. Had heard so many terrible things about them. What rod would you recommend in the $0-$120 dollar range that is light like the carrot stick. I fish crankbaits all the time and want a lighter rod
Crankbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-12, 04:28 PM   #2
Rebbasser
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Crankbait, I've been throwing them on Falcon Low Riders for several years and have been real happy with them. Lightweight and sensitive, and if I can get them on sale they run about $99. The nice thing about throwing crankbaits is sensitivity isn't nearly as important as it is for something like a worm or jig so I will also use rods that are not so high dollar.

I use crankbait specific rods for big bruisers like a DD-22 but for lighter baits like a Bandit 100 as long as the rod is a M action I don't hesitate to throw a crankbait on it.
Old 09-09-12, 04:32 PM   #3
Jrob78
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I'm not sure if I've held a rod that feels lighter than the Carrot Stix, anywhere close to that price range. There are some but they cost 3 times as much. The new CS Wild rods with the green butt cap are really nice to hold in the hand, I've never actually fished with one though. I haven't heard anything negative about CS since the initial bad rods 4 or 5 yrs ago. I guess what I'm saying is, you might have answered your own question. Just get one of the micro guide versions, some of the regular rods have guides that won't hold up to braid.
Old 09-09-12, 08:41 PM   #4
Crankbait

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrob78 View Post