Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-09-10, 08:59 AM   #1
walkeraviator
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default Deep Diving Jerk Baits

I am pretty new to fishing jerk baits. I managed two of my nicer fish this year on a Super Rogue, but know that it wasnt diving real deep. When I hit Kentucky Lake in March I know the fish are still gonne be moving up the points and may be in 10ft of water or more. So I have been thinking about increasing my jerkl bait arsenal. I have done enough research to know i want to give X-Raps and Pointers the try this coming year, but the normal models dont dive real deep... So my question is... should i consider a few of the deep diving versions of these two jerk baits? I have talked to same who claim the deep divers dont have the same action as the standard models and more geared towards trolling then rippin. What is your guys experience with Pointer 100 deep divers and teh X-Rap deep?

Thanks for the help guys... a little info... I will be throwing these on 10lb flouro if all goes to plan when spoolin up for teh spring...
walkeraviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-10, 10:55 AM   #2
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144

I don't use deep diver, but mostly because I don't fish water that is too deep. But also, you'd be surprised at how far a bass will move up the water column to attack what looks like a dying baitfish.

I was watching Rick Clunn catch fish out of 16-20' of water with a popper, but they'll come up for a jerkbait too. That's why I think there aren't a lot of deep divers.