Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics

Old 09-30-08, 05:20 PM   #1
cassidyta
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default CA DFG Rant

Okay, I want to start off by saying I support the DFG and the Wardens. I believe we do need to regulate fishing to make sure that my children can take their children fishing one day. all of that being said, I had an incident last night where I was forced to look at a Warden and say "Are you friggen kidding me?"
A little insight. In CA, as a resident I pay $38.85 for a license. If I want to use a 2nd pole at the same time, I pay an additional $12.10 to get a stamp. This allows for a max of two poles to be used. I do this for cats and trout. So to enjoy this sport/hobby that I love I pay the state $51.00. There are also additional fees if I want to fish the Colorado river, or go after the steel head up north. I pay this out, and while I am not happy about it, I don't complain too much.
Monday evening I went down to the river after work I had 4 poles with me, but was only fishing with one at a time. I had a frog, buzzbait, fluke and brushhog on different rigs.
Enter the warden. I saw him approaching and had no concerns since I was licensed and abiding by all the rules. He checked my license and made some small talk. Then he looked over at the rods laying on the ground and told me he would have to cite me because I was fishing with 4 rods. I actually laughed at first because I knew he must be joking. He then proceeded to tell me that since my bait was in the water, it classified as fishing. I looked down at the rods and yes, the baits were touching the water. Both the fluke and worm were a full 5 inches into the water.