Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 06-23-06, 09:25 PM   #1
floridabass
BassFishin.Com Member

Default spinner baits

Why are spinner baits supposed to be highly productive in windy conditions. If you choose to use a spinnerbait in calm conditions would you have to downsize? This seems to be one of the top search baits for most angler but I just dont seem to have the right touch ... or the right knowledge? Is there a secret to the spinnerbait?
floridabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-06, 09:42 PM   #2
pig n jig
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I am not an expert, but I can catch fish on a spinnerbait, reeling it pretty fast keeping the bait up just under the surface and really moving as fast as I can without bulging the surface, or break the surface.I have to throw it alot of times before I get a fish to hit it.The other way is to retreive them so you can just barely see the blades flash a pulse under water on the retreive.P N J
pig n jig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-06, 09:50 PM   #3
pig n jig
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I don't downsize, unless I see small bait popping ,usually in the fall when I match the spinnerbait closer to the bait size. The reason windy days are good is because it pulls bass from cover out in the open nearer the surface and shallower making it easier to catch them with a spinnerbait. Its a great search bait type lure when the bass scatter from their normal hiding spots.
pig n jig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-06, 09:52 PM   #4
floridabass
BassFishin.Com Member

When you generally get a hit on the spinnerbait do you tend to keep fishing the spinnerbait in that area, keep moving on with the spinner bait or stay in that area and start to unload the rest of your tackle box trying to develop a pattern?
Old 06-23-06, 09:54 PM   #5
floridabass
BassFishin.Com Member