The BassFishin.Com Fishing Line Guide

lowrider

BassFishin.Com Veteran Member
best photoshop ever, jb. you should add a Bassfishin.com reference in roland's quote though, he's worse than a nascar driver with the name dropping.

rrw4258

BassFishin.Com Super Veteran
very nice touch on the photoshop JB... and kevin i love the line guide on here... it actually cleared up a few questions for me. I also love the HD Pics and Videos... Keep it up.

Ryan

HarryT

BassFishin.Com Member
Line Test

I am new to fresh water fishing. I just purchased some rods and they specify 6 to 12 lb line. do I disregard this?

If fishing the Hudson for Stripped Bass is there a line type you recomend for fishing bunker chunks?

Kevin

Administrator
I am new to fresh water fishing. I just purchased some rods and they specify 6 to 12 lb line. do I disregard this?
Yea... I never even look at the line size recommendations on rods. They are there as general guidelines, dependent on the action of the rod. What is more important to look at is the action-rating. It will either say, Medium, Medium Heavy, Heavy, etc. Most likely, a 6-12 lb line recommendation is a Medium Rod. But just know you can use whatever line you like. :)

If fishing the Hudson for Stripped Bass is there a line type you recomend for fishing bunker chunks?
If you're fishing bunker chunks, then I'd use 20 lb fluorocarbon or monofilament. You can get away with as light as 14 lb though. 12 lb test would be risking it in my opinion.

And if the fish are big and the water has some color to it, you can certainly go to 25 lb test to get those big fish in no problem.

I fish a lot of fluorocarbon for rockfish (stripers) because it is much more abrasion-resistant and will take abuse from the fish's teeth better than mono because it's a harder (more dense) line. Fluoro excels with things like that... bluefish teeth, etc.

Hope this helps some!

bamabassman

BassFishin.Com Premier Elite