Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 03-16-09, 09:17 PM   #1
pacmanrocks
BassFishin.Com Member

Default baitcaster question

I got my new baitcaster setup and took it out on the water. I tried to make my first cast with it and I could only cast about 5 foot. I have a BPS 7.0 foot extreme rod and bps baitcaster. My reel is set to 10 on brakes (max) and my drag is all the way tight almost. My dial is barely letting my bait fall on the line. I thought I set everything up. All I'm getting is backlashes and 5 foot casts from it. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? I'm new to baitcasters so I need help. Do I cast overhand or am I suppose to side arm a baitcaster? I'm used to spinning reels.
pacmanrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-09, 09:26 PM   #2
bamabassman
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

well first of all you need to not try to sling it out in left field so to speak. start with little underhanded casts at first so you can learn how to use your thumb. mississippiboy said it best. "yopur thumb is your friend". try that and loosen up the brake a little to start with. not the drag, the brakes. and what are you slinging? how heavy is it? that will help figure out what you're doing wrong. i would start with a 3/4 ounce weight. and go from there. little flips underhanded, like pitching to a 4 yr old kid with a baseball. not JUST like a baseball. that was wrong to say, it is kinda like a little side ways underhanded cast, understand?
Old 03-16-09, 09:30 PM   #3
MrPhotographer06
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Send a message via AIM to MrPhotographer06

it took me hours to figure out how to do mine..

turn the brakes down a little and the little knob behind the star drag loose until it falls decent speed then throw it and keep your thumb lightly on it..

baitcasters are the best reel in the world once you lean to use them
Old 03-16-09, 09:31 PM   #4
bingham