Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 05-13-09, 01:36 PM   #1
odinbassgod
BassFishin.Com Member

Default nothing works

Hey guys I'm new to bass fishing this year and iI have tryed alot of diffrent things and I still have not caught a bass. I have tryed jigs,soft plastics,crank baits,lipless crank baits, top water baits,spinner baits and just plan live worms. nothing works. I am fishing from a bank cuz I don't have a boat yet. Could someone please give me a few tips and maybe tell me what i might be doing wrong with the gear I have already used.
odinbassgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 02:51 PM   #2
Bassboss
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

So looks like you're in a bit of a tuff situation ah!

Well, one thing I do when the bass are not biting is to change my retrieve speed! Mix thing up, if I'm using a spinnerbait, I'll start off with a fast retrieve, almost a burning style! if that won't work, one thing I'll try before I switch baits, is to slow down, ro speed up, most of the time I slow down. If that dose not work, I'll try something else, or a different color. I'll change color especially if I'm using a slow moving bait, such as a worm or jig!

9/10 times the reason I wont be catching fish in my speed is off.

~hope this helps, good luck and good fishin!
Old 05-13-09, 03:07 PM   #3
stevomac59
BassFishin.Com Active Member

First off, welcome to the forum!

Okay, I have been in your situation when I first started getting serious about bass fishing, and yes it can be VERY frustrating! It took a while for me start catching some good bass, and Im still working on it to this day!