Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Non-Fishing Related Talk
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 12-20-11, 09:20 AM   #1
mdcamp3
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Just Joined

Thought I would introduce myself. Traditionally a walleye fisherman, I am a novice Bass Angler looking to increase my knowledge, tactics, and techniques targeting LM and smallies in Eastern PA. If I'm not on the lakes/reservoirs, then I can be found at the local creeks seeking a trophy Rainbow, Brownie, and Brookie. My first tasks is to learn the Baitcaster. Any advice?
mdcamp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-11, 10:13 AM   #2
joedog
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Welcome mdcamp3! I've caught my share of Wallys on Mississippi River, pools 5 and 6.
Have fun here and I look forward to learning from you!
Old 12-20-11, 11:29 AM   #3
Vegasspider
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

Default Welcome

Welcome and there are some helpful regular posters in the actual on subject threads. Enjoy.
Vegasspider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-11, 12:24 PM   #4
MississippiBoy

Welcome to the site, MD. Hope you stick around a while.

As far as using baitcasters, the best advice is just practice, practice, practice. Get a decent reel, something in probably the $80-$100 range. If there's a Bass Pro near you, their Pro Qualifier is a heck of a reel for the price, and their Extreme is very good, as well. I wouldn't go cheap, because there's worlds of difference in how a cheap reel behaves as opposed to a good one. Check out eBay and craigslist for deals on good quality used reels. Post the link here and I'm sure somebody will chime in on whether it's a good deal or not.