Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics

Old 07-13-12, 07:35 AM   #1
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Default P Line comparison.

I've been using PLines Flouroclear for several years now thanks to Rebs recommendation and love the stuff. However, I have never used PLines CX line. Both are advertized as being a flourocarbon coated copoly line. From what I have heard, the CXX is a more abrasion resistant version of the CX. But what is the difference between the CX and Flouroclear?
Old 07-13-12, 08:59 AM   #2
USMCbassman
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

Following post as I'd like to know as well...

FWIW Keith, I'm running the CXX in 12lb on a bait caster and the FloroClear 8lb on another bait caster and my drop shot rig. The CXX looks and feels more like a mono IMO. Hardly any stretch and the overall diameter seems to be larger than when I also had some 12lb floroclear that I gooned up spooling.

I'm starting to grow fond of my floroclear, especially on my drop shot rig. It seems about right for that. The CX seems like it might be great middle ground of the three. I have no experience with the CX, so I'm anxious to hear what those say who have experience with it.
USMCbassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-12, 02:22 AM   #3
Jrob78
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I use CX on the majority of my reels. To me, it's a really good balance between Fluoroclear and CXX. When i first went from mono to copoly, I started with Yo-Zuri Hybrid. I liked it for its strength and low stretch compared to mono but hated its memory. I tried CX next and never spooled up with the YZH again.