Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 08-02-08, 03:45 PM   #1
TheeBullHead
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Newbie here...How did I do?

First off, I am new to the forum, and from what I've seen so far, it's great! I even read up on using live spiders as bait.

So, I have been wanting to get a new setup for bass fishing here in Minnesota. I just moved here a few months ago and decided to spoil myself. I did a lot of research on the web before heading to Cabela's today, however when I got to the store, all the research I had done went out the door...

By the time I left, I ended up buying a Shimano Crucial CRC-X76MH, 7'6", Medium Heavy, Extra Fast Action, IM-9 Graphite and a Shimano Curado 300DSV. I really like fishing for bass in cover using worms and tubes, but my favorite thing is running a frog over the lilly pads or moss to get that explosive strike. I also bought Spiderwire Stealth 65# braid to tow them through the muck.

Basically, I'm looking to get some input from some of you guys that know a lot more about bass fishing than I do. Did I get the right setup? How did I do?

Thanks!
TheeBullHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 04:09 PM   #2
Bob Smith
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheeBullHead View Post
First off, I am new to the forum, and from what I've seen so far, it's great! I even read up on using live spiders as bait.

So, I have been wanting to get a new setup for bass fishing here in Minnesota. I just moved here a few months ago and decided to spoil myself. I did a lot of research on the web before heading to Cabela's today, however when I got to the store, all the research I had done went out the door...