Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations

Old 08-15-05, 06:56 AM   #1
1FASTLASER
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default For those of you that dont like Superbraid

Thought I would throw this one out there for those of you that dont like the braids. TRY THIS. I have been using braid for years and only didnt like the fact that it would sink when I am fishin in the jungles. A friend told me to get some fly line wax and apply it to the braid. IT WORKS! I did the whole reel full and not only does the line come throught the weeds and pads better and doesnt sink it quiets the line down and casts further and does NOT injure the guides. Being a custom rod builder I am always trying to figure out ways to make a rod more bullet proof and to extend the longevity and this is one of the best tricks so far.
1FASTLASER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-05, 06:30 PM   #2
Rebbasser
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

I've done candle wax on the first ten feet or so, but hadn't thought about fly line wax. Great idea!
Old 08-15-05, 07:45 PM   #3
zooker

yeah use mono .... i have only one reel spooled up with braid and i use it rarely.

zooker
Old 08-15-05, 10:44 PM   #4
454ss
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

Braids to expensive for me when i can get triple of mono for half price of braid
454ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-05, 05:56 AM   #5
1FASTLASER

Well braid definatley has a place in my box for the type of cover I fish and the size of fish that I sometimes read SOMETIMES lol can catch. I wont ever go to braid when crankin or topwater or spinnerbaiting but plastics and jigs and the like I will more than likly be throwing on braid.
Old 08-16-05, 07:26 AM   #6
lizardsrule

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1FASTLASER
I wont ever go to braid when crankin or topwater or spinnerbaiting but plastics and jigs and the like I will more than likly be throwing on braid.