Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 09-26-06, 01:08 PM   #1
WallStreetAmigo
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default new rod and reel

Hi All,

I’m very new to fishing and am looking for some advice. I started bass fishing about a month ago and got immediately hooked when I caught a 4 pounder from shore my first time out. Now I have the feeling this is going to get expensive and eat up all of my free time. I am very interested in learning as much as possible to be consistently good at it.

This forum is an unbelievable resource for newbies like me. I have learned a lot just by reading the questions and answers here.

I want to buy a new rod and reel combo, but would like some advice on what I should get based on my situation. I will give you an idea of where, how, and what lures I fish to give you a framework to work with.

I split my time between shore fishing and fishing from an inflatable boat (no motor). The lakes I fish are shallow and clear with lots of underwater weeds and, when shore fishing, lots of topwater weeds and lily pads. I have tried many different types of lures, but I keep coming back to a Rapala Skitter Pop, a spinnerbait, and a crankbait, all of which my kids gave me for my birthday.

I need a new rod and reel combo, and the issue is being able to cast lighter lures a good distance, while having a strong enough rod to handle 2 to 5 pound bass who immediately weave through the weeds when hooked. Any input on rod, reel, and even selecting the right line to use to maximize casting distance and still being able to bring in lunker sized bass would be greatly appreciated. If you need further info, let me know.
WallStreetAmigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-06, 02:27 PM   #2
skeeter944
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran