Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 12-24-07, 03:48 PM   #1
lunker-lander
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Send a message via MSN to lunker-lander
Default --St.Croix/Curado--

OK, Guys, I know we went through this before, but now I have another rod in mind. Since you already know this rod is for frogs,(Horny Toads, Buzzfrogs, Sizmic Toads, etc.)Jimmy's, Spooks, Sammy's, and buzzbaits, and you know I want a Croix, the question is:

>How heavy of a power?

I was looking at an LTBC70HF: 7', Heavy, Fast Action, 4.4Oz., 3/8-1Oz. Lure Weight.

The other rod I now have in mind is and LTBC70MHM: 7', Medium-Heavy, Moderate Action, 3.6Oz., 3/8-1Oz. Lure Weight.

So, is Heavy too heavy for my purposes?

-Lunk-
Old 12-24-07, 07:01 PM   #2
pig n jig

I am relatively new with frogs, but I don't think the same rod can be used for frogs & Jimmy, spooks, sammys.You might get away with a buzzbait, but it would be about it.

Saint Croix is known to be heavier than most companies ratings. For example, a Saint croix MH is like most Heavy action ratings.

The thing to do is figure out how sloppy your froggin grounds are.I have a saint croix flipping stick that is MH action. It is too stiff to pitch jigs with so that is my frog rod.I can get away with it here seeing , if I can't pull the bass out, I can put the trolling motor on high and go get her.A real genuine frogger probably wouldn't mess up the sloppy paradise, so they would use a heavy action rod to pull them out of the mess. If I get the froggin fever, I would still use the Saint croix, I use 50 lb braid, I would just tie the braid off to a cleat and start up the lil' big motor to pull the bass out. As you can tell, I don't know nothing about froggin, but I do know frogs and top water hard baits with treble hooks require 2 different rods. P N J
pig n jig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-07, 10:37 PM   #3
lunker-lander