Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 07-12-11, 05:04 PM   #1
Scott the fishman
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default Fluorocarbon fishing line?

I recently bought fluorocarbon fishing line because people say it is best when for getting soft plastics down deep. i haven't used it yet on the lake. i have taken a few casts in my back yard but the line seems to jump off the reel. the line is on my Abu Garcia Cardinal. all the past times i put mono on my reels and not to much of a problem. Am i doing something wrong? Has this happened to anyone else?

Thanks,
Scott
Scott the fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-11, 05:07 PM   #2
MississippiBoy
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I'm no expert on fluoro, but I do know that a lot of them suck. What brand name of line did you get, and what pound test strength? Some more knowledgable members will be along shortly, and they'll need to know that info.

Welcome to the site, by the way. You do know that the new guy has to buy everyone a beer, right?
Old 07-12-11, 05:53 PM   #3
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Quote:
Originally Posted by MississippiBoy View Post

Welcome to the site, by the way. You do know that the new guy has to buy everyone a beer, right?
He's not kidding. You really do. I've always heard about flouro jumping off of spinning reels due to it's stiffness. Some are softer than others. I've never used flouro on a spinning reel because of all the negative comments I've heard about flouro and spinning reels. I'm sure you'll get some good advice soon from guys here who have. And ummm, boy am I thirsty.
Old 07-12-11, 06:26 PM   #4
bamabassman