Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions

Old 06-24-10, 02:54 PM   #1
66KingFisher
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default Braid questions

After many years of using nothing but mono, I decided to try some braid on my primary baitcaster,so I purchased a pony spool of Spiderwire EZbraid 50#........First thing I noticed as I loaded my reel, was the line felt like it was wax coated or something and would even hold its shape if I wrapped it around my finger. So right off the bat, my first question is, "Does this stuff loosen up after its been in the water for a while or what"? I'm gonna give it a try this weekend so we'll see how it acts but I was wondering if I should expect some sort of "break in" period?

Also,the box had a notation that said I should use the Palomar knot for best performance.........Well, i've been tying the same knot for 30+ years and its not a palomar......Should I change my knot tying habits now that i've switched to braid? I have been practicing the Uni to Uni knot so I could tie on a mono or floro leader.....I think thats the knot of choice for joining two same diameter lines right?
66KingFisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 03:09 PM   #2
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144

Most braids have a coating and it will wear off after a short break in period.

Palomar is one of the few knots that won't slip in braid. I'd highly suggest learning it for use with braid.

I use the uni to uni or double uni knot for all my line to line connections with no problems. Even 10lb braid (2lb diameter) to 8lb fluoro. One tip for this is instead of the regular 5-6 wraps used with fluoro or mono, use about 8-9 for the braided line half of the knot.

BB
Old 06-24-10, 04:23 PM   #3
geezer1
BassFishin.Com Active Member