Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 02-25-05, 07:11 PM   #1
CAROLINABASSSMAN12
BassFishin.Com Member

Send a message via ICQ to CAROLINABASSSMAN12
Default General Advice

Hi all,

am posting from Ireland and looking for any info I can get from you guys on Bass Fishing.
Am heading to Florida, Orlando, Kissimee is the area, for my annual vacation in June of this year. Have rented a Villa for a few weeks and right behind me is an 18 acre lake which I'm told has Bass in it, I've no idea of the size or poss weight. Any ideas what else might be in it.

I'm a Carp Angler here in Ireland and also fish for Pike
My best Carp is 28lbs and best Pike is 19lbs. So It's fair to say I have some Angling experience / time behind me.

So these Bass, whats the craic, is all the fishing done with Lures or moving baits being jerked for want of a better term, or do they go for static baits and if so what
do they go for, dead fish or worms.

Will obviously do some research locally when I get there and have managed to find the address of a tackle shop over there but want to start getting some ideas.

Rod and reel ? normally I use a 12ft, 2.75 test curve rod
with a baitrunner reel, spooled up with 15lb breaking strain nylon. Whats the preferred set up that you guys use.

I know this is all very general stuff and lots more then these simple questions need to be answered to get a decent catch but I've gotta start somewhere.
Any help would be much appreciated,

Slainte.

CAROLINABASSSMAN12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-05, 08:24 PM   #2
Rich
BassFishin.Com Member

Send a message via ICQ to Rich
Default Re: General Advice

Welcome to the forum!