Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Bass Boats, Trailers & Setups
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 06-28-08, 05:48 AM   #1
Mensa
BassFishin.Com Member

Send a message via AIM to Mensa
Question Temporary

Hello! I just found this site and was thrilled, it seems like there is a good wealth of information here. I am new to fishing and have went to a lake about 3 minutes from my house the last couple weeks, and have really enjoyed it.

I would like to get a little farther out from shore now, and be able to get to places I wouldn't be able to from shore.

My question is, what sort of boat should I be looking for? We don't own a trailer, it only needs to seat 2 people or so, and relatively cheap. This will only be temporary until we can afford a pontoon boat next year. The sole use of this boat will be fishing, and will be used only on Old Hickory lake (in Hendersonville, TN).
Mensa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-08, 07:43 AM   #2
1FASTLASER
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Well first things in order is welcoming you to the nuthouse.,BUT the finest nuts in the world congrgate here.
Second on your question you actually need to think about the size of the lake you mentioned. Thats not your run of the mill pond there. One of the little 2 man plastic Bass Hunter boats will do only if you dont get much farther than 50yds off the bank and with a big enough trolling motor to get you off the lake quickly and safeley if bad weather sneaks up on ya. If you opt for a boat like this please be safe about it as they are limited to there capabilities. Also bear in mind that some states (such as pennsylvania) limit the usuage of small boats like that. In Pennsylvania if my memory serves me right you are only allowerd to be x number of yards from your launch site and 50yds from shore with these boats.
Old 06-28-08, 10:09 AM   #3
MrPhotographer06

Send a message via AIM to MrPhotographer06