Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Bass Boats, Trailers & Setups
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 05-23-06, 09:19 AM   #1
silversvt26
BassFishin.Com Member

Question Primer bulb question

I just purchased a Mercury primer bulb kit. Which had the hosing, quick disconnect, and primer bulb. I removed the old set and installed the new set. The problem I am having is I cannot get any fuel into the bulb let alone up to the engine? I spent 10minutes squeezing the bulb. I made sure the fittings were tight and that the arrow was going towards the motor. I have never done this before so I assume I am doing something wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

Jason
silversvt26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-06, 06:59 PM   #2
zooker
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

take a nail stick it in your moter plug in connection. -there is a round steel ball in there-pump the bulb. you probly have a air lock. when the gas shoots out the connection hook it up and pump the bulb till it gets pretty hard..

zooker
Old 05-23-06, 10:52 PM   #3
silversvt26
BassFishin.Com Member

Ok thanks, I'll give it a try tomorrow.
Old 05-24-06, 03:07 AM   #4
fishin_dude
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Also, you might have the bulb connected in the wrong direction. Try reversing the connection, I bet that's the problem.
Old 05-24-06, 06:50 AM   #5
1FASTLASER
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by zooker
take a nail stick it in your moter plug in connection. -there is a round steel ball in there-pump the bulb. you probly have a air lock. when the gas shoots out the connection hook it up and pump the bulb till it gets pretty hard..

zooker
Good Ole Southern ingenuity WORKS.
Old 05-29-06, 09:25 PM   #6
silversvt26
BassFishin.Com Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by zooker

zooker