Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 12-12-06, 05:22 PM   #1
BigNiner19
BassFishin.Com Member

Send a message via AIM to BigNiner19
Default Braided Line Knots....Please Help me!

So...Im new to the braided line scene. I picked up some sufix performance braid from bass pro yesterday. I got the 10LB version, cuz i wanted to try it on my small bass reel first to see if I liked the feel, and how it casts etc.... So I spooled it up with about a 10-15 yard backing of 8lb mono line. Tried out the new setup today....loved it. Caught 2 nice pea's...and numerous 1-2 lb largies. Also got one over 2lbs.

I was using a original floater rapala lure, and I tied a clinch knot from the braid to the lure. The knot was really tite, I even put a lot of good pressure on it and it wouldnt snap. However, on about the 8th bass I caught later on in the day. The lure snapped off with the fish, and i looked at the end of my line on the braid. The knot isnt what broke. It was the single loop around the eye of the lure that basically tore/broke/snapped just below the knot. Almost like the braid cut itself or something.

Anyone have some input for me on this, so I will not lose lures in the future to this problem. I would hate to have to tie a leader on there....it would effect the action of some of the lures I use for bass and peas.

Cory
BigNiner19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-06, 05:55 PM   #2
JB
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

try the polomer knot
JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-06, 06:19 PM   #3
Deacon
BassFishin.Com Active Member

As usual Jb is right....Palomar Knot!!!!!!
Deacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-06, 06:44 PM   #4
BigNiner19
BassFishin.Com Member