Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 05-27-10, 10:38 PM   #1
brushhog
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default Net 'em or lip 'em

When you are just out fishin, not tourneys, do you net 'em or lip 'em? I feel like a bit of a wimp admitting that I most often net...

In fact, I only really lip 'em when I forget the net. I guess as a beginner I wasn't to good at lippin' em and lost a few at the boat. Went to the net and never looked back.

What do you do?
Old 05-27-10, 10:50 PM   #2
WTL
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

If the fish is bigger than a pound, and is not hooked on a single hook, (IE treble or spinnerbait with trailer) I always net.

I have a few reasons, and its not concern over losing the fish. First, just lifting any fish of any weight over the side of the boat can bring about the possibility of the line breaking and the fish taking your lure with it. Second, when lipping a fish with a crankbait or other hooks floating around that mouth, you are asking for a Bamabassman moment. And I have been very lucky, in the past, to hook myself but never get to the barb and I dont intend to change that.
WTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-10, 11:23 PM   #3
Bender

In the past the I lipped them all of the time other than tournament fishing unless they were really big. Recently I've started using a lip grip on baits with treble hooks just for the reasons that WTL stated. I bought an econo one with a scale from BPS with the intent of using it only for pike but I'll admit that it works really well so I use it a lot.
Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-10, 12:07 AM   #4
WatterBoy

Almost always net 'em, although I do just hoist some of the really small ones into the boat or up onto the dock. My fishing buddy took a hook (past the barb) into his hand a couple years ago and I want no part of that.