Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 06-30-10, 01:25 PM   #1
jjjbluray
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Hello Out There!

I am brand new to fishing and have officially been introduced to the monkey. My family and I live about 5 minutes from West Point Lake in LaGrange, GA. Since moving here, we have been fishing quite alot. Unfortunately, we've managed to catch four fish over the course of maybe a month and a half. A catfish (about 1.5 lbs), a nice blue gill, and 2 bream that were good size, all on big red worms. I have ventured out into lure land and am trying some inline spinners, jitterbugs, hoola poppers, as well as artificial worms. I have had two great bites on inline spinners where they grab it and run, only to break off my hook and leave me in tears... Also understand that we are monetarily challenged so all fishing is from the bank in various locations around the lake. I need help. Is it possible to catch a fish from the banks of West Point Lake? We love fishing but it loses the fun aspect when the only thing we get nibbles from are the annoying babies at the edge of the water. I've solved my knot problems by studying up on them and I believe I am using a decent rod and reel (Zebco Omega Z03 reel and the Omega rod). Where can I go in GA to catch a fish or three from the bank? ANY advice will be absorbed and used! Thanks to everyone!
jjjbluray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-10, 01:52 PM   #2
Bassboss
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

You can pretty much go anywhere to catch fish from the bank. Heck I do it, I've already got more than 100 bass for this year!