Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Non-Fishing Related Talk
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 08-06-10, 07:27 PM   #1
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144
Default Smoking Ribs

I smoked some ribs for the first time today. Now I've never smoked anything before, on a grill or in a smoker. So I'm a newb to smoking and this was kind of a practice run.

Using a smoker box for our LP grill, I started at around noon. The baby backs didn't come off the grill until almost 6:30. The temperature gauge on the hood of the grill read a consistent 225-250 degree all day.

I refilled the smoker box every 45 minutes or so, and when I did, I sprayed with the ribs with 60% apple cider vinegar and 40% canola oil.

I had the burner under the smoker box on low, and the burner on the opposite side of the grill on low too keep it around desired temps. The ribs were between the two lit burners, and not over either of them.

When we brought them in and cut them open, one had some pink/red near the bone, one had a not-fully-cooked texture to it, and the other seemed fine.

The one that had the red in the middle was right in the middle of the grill, so I think it may not have been cooked thoroughly. I had also though, occasionally, you just get some meet (chicken and pork) that is just pink, no matter how cooked it is...

Now, this is our first time having smoked ribs, so is the texture of the second slab I mentioned normal, or was it not fully cooked? We stuck a few ribs off that one in the microwave for a couple minutes, and it still had the same texture. Is this just from smoking, or was it not done?

Temps for all three racks read between 170-180 degrees, but I may have been touching the bone with the thermometer...