Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 07-18-09, 03:18 PM   #1
RHoy185
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Looking for a new spinning rod

I have been fishing for about 2 years now and recently bought my first "high-end" rig, Shimano Citica on a St. Croix Triumph. Now its time to upgrade my spinning set-up, currently I am using a Pflueger President on a 5'6" Ugly Stick LA 2-piece. I would like a higher quality rod, 6' ML one-piece. Having a hard time finding those exact specs, anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance!
RHoy185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 03:36 PM   #2
crankybait
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

What price range you looking at?
Old 07-18-09, 04:00 PM   #3
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144

An upgrade form an ugly stick would definately be a good idea. Keep the reel though, those pflueger president's are nice reels and great for the price.

Honestly, if you're bass fishing, I'd go to a longer and heavier rod. Maybe a 6'6" M. a 6' ML may be hard to find in name brand rods. If you really want that length try looking at a store's brand. Like Cabela's, BPS, Gander Mtn, etc. I think those rods tend to have more to choose from than other brands.

But if you'd be willing to go to a longer and heavier rod, check out the Shimano Compre rods. I'm prett sure you'd be able to find a 6'6" M rod in that series. That or check out the Falcon LowRiders.

BB
Old 07-18-09, 04:49 PM   #4
carolina-rig-01

check with tim at tigerodz, i bet he can fix you up and his rods are the best quality you can ask for.
Old 07-18-09, 07:10 PM   #5
RHoy185
BassFishin.Com Member