Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 06-27-06, 12:30 PM   #1
brandonjames
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Frog Help

I am just starting to get back into bass fishing again and have seen alot of talk on the board on frogs. I have never used one before and it seems like there is alot of success with them, I grew up using spinnerbaits and soft worms. I would really like to stray away from what I have always done and try something new as my fish numbers is down alot. I used a buzz bait for the first time about a week ago and had three fish in 15 minutes. I could not believe it I was amazed, no hits on a spinner bait for about an hour and then bam they hammerd the buzz bait. My question is how and when do you use a frog. Thanks for all the help.
brandonjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-06, 01:08 PM   #2
H2O
BassFishin.Com Active Member

I'm using Tiki toad, Zoom Honny toad and Yum Buzz Frog. T-rigged weightless. I use them in two ways: Buzz across the top just like buzzbait; or retrieve them submerged as jerkbaits.
Here is more details from Wave Fishing ( Tiki stuffs):

"......
With the frog craze that has hit the bass fishing world, Wave Industries has introduced the Tiki-Toad. The Tiki-Toad's specially shaped legs and feet separate it from other frog type baits. The Tiki-Toad has natural shape legs and feet that point outwards that allows for the most natural kicking motion as possible. The design lets the paddle feet make the natural gurgling type noise along with bubbles as you skim it across the surface. The Tiki-Toad is also designed with a groove on its back to help position the hook. To fish the Tiki-Toad weightless, 3/0 to 5/0 hooks work best