Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 12-24-07, 06:48 PM   #1
chubs
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default smallmouths!

Ive been fishing for largemouth for 20+ years and have caught a few hundred smallies but most were caught by mistake while walleye fishing. I have very few smallie lakes close to my house but this year Im going to just about fish for nothing else.
What lures do I need to get me off in the right direction?
chubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 07:35 PM   #2
pig n jig
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Where to start ?
1.Painted bladed spinnerbaits, white spinerbaits and of course chartruese spinnerbaits. I like 1/2 oz. white blade/white skirt for general open water spinnerbaiting, but I like a heavier chartruese bladed/chartruese skirted spinnerbait for burning over weedbeds.I want a 4 1/2 size rear willow on a 3/4 to 1 oz. body.This keeps the bait running lower as to burn it back faster.

2. Zoom super fluke in bubblegum color.

3. Tube baits, green pumpkin and avocado , or rootbeer green flake.I use a sliding 1/8 oz. tungstun weight with the Gamakatsu sure grip hook in 2/0 & 3/0. This hook is a spin off of the Grigsby HP hook by Eagle claw.

4. Hard jerkbaits. Suspending rogues, husky jerks....They will wear you out when fished propperly.

5.Kalin grubs on 1/4 oz. leadhead jig. Smoke, Motor oil/red flake, watermelon are my favorite colors.I like 5" Kalins over the 3", but have both.

6. Senko. Yamamoto brand #214 5" size.

7.hair jigs and regular bass jigs.

8 Buzzbaits, spook jrs,sammy, spittin image, zip n ziggy, baby torpedo. Make the buzzbait black skirted.

9. Carolina rigging 5" green pumpkin zoom lizards, and zoom centepedes in cotton candy color.Yamamoto makes a 4" lizard as well that is good, but on the small side.