Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Bass Boats, Trailers & Setups
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 07-09-09, 11:14 PM   #1
Abbeysdad
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default Maiden Voyage

re: http://www.bassfishin.com/bassfishin...ad.php?t=20550

Well I left work at 3pm today (1/4 day vacation), came home, hooked her up and towed her the 8 miles or so to Cayuga lake. I stopped off on the way and topped off the gas tank with about 12 gallons. The launch at the park was busier than I expected. A fella came in right behind me. I got out, told him I was a total newbie and he should go ahead of me. He said "that's okay, I'm waiting for my son anyway - you go ahead and I'll give you a hand". My backup skills were pitiful - I know the right moves, but I cut the turn too much and don't straighten out soon enuff (need to make smaller adjustments) - I had to pull forward and go back again too many times! Probably entertaining for some. Finally got her in the water and the girls held the ropes as I cranked her out and she floated free. I tied her off, shook the fellas hand and thanked him fer helping me and parked the rig. I Came back and she didn't want to start right away. I was starting to think maybe I shouldn't have parked the trailer! Then she started up and I was surprised how quiet the 90HP Mecury was. We slowly made our way out the channel to the lake. I trimmed her down all the way and gave her some gas. She didn't seem to have much power. I pushed her some more and I wasn't liking the motor sound - it was like she wasn't getting an even gas flow. The girls were in the back but the bow seemed heavy and I don't know if it was plowing, but it just wasn't getting up on plane. I was thinking there was some issue with the engine and it was gonna have to go back to the dealer.