Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 01-25-09, 01:34 AM   #1
TNRACER93
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Spoons

What areas do you throw spoons? Water temp etc. Im new with using spoons and just trying to learn about them and when to use them. Also what spoons do you like using. Thanks
TNRACER93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-09, 01:52 AM   #2
gizzardshad
BassFishin.Com Member

Im just trying to learn as well. I've tried several without success. I'm fishing water temp right at 40 degrees, but I think the problem is Im not finding the fish.

Everyone who has used them successfully says you will see baitfish suspended with a few arches around them on your graph. I guess I just have a hard time finding a feeding school?
gizzardshad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-09, 12:39 PM   #3
TNRACER93
BassFishin.Com Member

Same here water temp is around 40. I have seem balls of bait but had no luck. Maybe some of those guys who have luck can give a few pointers.
TNRACER93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-09, 01:25 PM   #4
JB
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

at the lake here we see guys that are fishing near a flat right where the break is that goes 20-40 ft, fishing the drop. It looks like they let the spoon hit the bottom and then reel it up a few ft and then jerk the rod tip up and let it flutter back down. Also study the graph for the desired depth once you spot what depth the fish are in. I see walleye fishermen do it all year near the breaks off of flats where it meets the causeway areas.
JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-09, 01:54 PM   #5
woody
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I hav'nt done much spooning yet, but I can see where the use of our Electronics would be crucial.

~Mark
woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-09, 10:44 PM   #6
wv basser
BassFishin.Com Member