Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 03-05-10, 12:02 AM   #1
Snowman_85tn
BassFishin.Com Member

Default How much line?

how much line do i need to put on my baitcaster when puttin new line in?
Snowman_85tn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-10, 12:09 AM   #2
Rebbasser
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Welcome to the forum!

I fill mine so there is about 1/8th-1/16th of an inch between the line and the lip of the spool. Too much line can cause tangle problems and too little can limit casting distance.
Old 03-05-10, 12:15 AM   #3
Tavery5
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

What kinda reel you using and what is the pound test of the line. Alot of reels say on them what their capacity is.
Tavery5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-10, 12:22 AM   #4
Snowman_85tn
BassFishin.Com Member

12 lb I'm kinda new to the baitcasters. what would u guys recomend for a beginner?
Snowman_85tn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-10, 12:49 AM   #5
Rebbasser

I use 12 lb on all of my baitcasters. I really like P-Line Floroclear. Tough yet handles like a dream. If you are just getting into baitcasters here is a great site that will get you pointed in the right direction as far as setting up the reel:

http://pages.infinit.net/fishing/bait101.htm
Old 03-05-10, 09:10 AM   #6
Bassboss

Hey, welcome to the forum.