Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 10-09-11, 10:02 AM   #1
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Default The BPS Johnny Morris Carbon Black casting reel.

I wanted to take a moment to write about this reel. Now, I am no expert on reels, so take this for what it's worth, just an opinion. I'll leave it to guys like pro reel and others to comment on the "guts" of the reel as I don't know much about bearings, gearing, and so forth. This is just a simple users opinion. I bought this reel this past March in a 7.1:1 ratio, with a 31" IPT to have as my buzzbait and fluke reel. The basic specs sounded good enough for the job and I liked the 14 pound drag rating as I planned on using this reel in places where I would want to turn a basses head away from cover fast. The flat black color might turn some folks off, but I like it. Well, after using this reel hard all year long I am very happy to say this reel has been a complete success! I couldn't be happier with the reel. I've worked this reel extensivly every outting and here at the end of the season it still performs like the day I took it out of the box. Tight, smooth, and dependable, and performs flawlessly. Thanks to the dual breaking system on this reel, I can only remember one backlash all year long with this reel and thats only because I snaged the lure on the cast on an overhanging branch. I get nice long smooth casts with this reel, and it balances very well with the Cabelas XML 6 1/2 MH/F rod I have it mounted on. The drag has worked very smoothly and was more than adaquate in all the situations I found myself in. I like the rubberized grips on the recurved handle which completely eliminates grip slippage when it's wet. If I could go back and do it all over again, I would replace several of my older reels with this reel. And for $129.99, I don't think you can find a better