Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 01-26-07, 10:48 AM   #1
stratos
BassFishin.Com Member

Default new to tourney fishing

hello, i am new to the tournament fishing, i was wondering if anybody had some first time advise?
stratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-07, 11:00 AM   #2
betursweetbass
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

Send a message via Yahoo to betursweetbass

I've never fished in a tourament before, but my approach would most likely be as follows. I'd follow my usual patterns as far as what to use and where to look for fish. I would try not to worry about the time factor, and I'd try to stay focused on what I was doing. Don't rush or get sidetracked, try to think of the tourny as just another day with your fishing buddy, who you are trying to out fish. Relax and enjoy the day and concentrate on your fishing. I'm sure some of the guys here who do fish tourny's will have some good input for you....
Good Luck
betursweetbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-07, 11:17 AM   #3
stratos
BassFishin.Com Member

thanks for the info, do you fish much lakes
Old 01-26-07, 01:30 PM   #4
betursweetbass

Fayette country reservoir near LaGrange Tx, and Summerville near Brenham, and Conroe. I usually target shallow water areas with trees or other structure. Weed beds also.
Old 01-26-07, 01:34 PM   #5
stratos
BassFishin.Com Member

what about early spring, like March? Do you try to fish deep water drop offs, or do you stick with structure?
Old 01-26-07, 01:44 PM   #6
betursweetbass