Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 05-04-09, 01:03 PM   #1
dynakin
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Lure selections help?

I am relatively new to bass fishing and will be heading out on the lake this weekend. (Lake Sinclair, Georgia, 80º, calm and sunny) I have read hundreds of the post on this forum (thanks for the info) but it seems overwhelming at times. Could I get some advice on how to start the day with lure selection for each rod? Then what would you try next. I am not necessarily going for the hawg, just trying to learn how to fish for a good size bass. I would probably trying fishing the shore from a boat (docks, rocks, trees) Thanks for the advice and I appreciate the wealth of info thus far.

Rod 1: AbuGarcia SilverMax Baitcaster (Berkely Lightning M or MH?) 12lb
Rod 2: Spinning Reel (Medium rod) 10lb
Rod 3: Spinning Reel (Berkely Lightning ML) 8lb
Rod 4: Spinning Reel (Light - Ultralight Action) Any need to rig this?

I have a fair assortment of worms, spinners, crankbaits, ragetail shad, jig heads, rattle traps.
dynakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-09, 01:56 PM   #2
MississippiBoy
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Welcome to the site. You're right, it can be overwhelming with all the info on here. Just stick with your strengths and you'll be fine. Of course, if you start learning new techniques, you'll wake up the bait monkey, and it's all over with after that happens.