Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 06-24-11, 10:57 AM   #1
Mumpy
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default Drop Shot Technique

Hello everyone, I am just getting started in this Technique and would like to discuss it a bit if you guys wouldn’t mind. Little bit about myself, I mainly fish the Chattahoochee River in the upper end of Lake Eufaula. During this time of year the Bass are in around 20’ of Water on the Main River Channel ledges. I am going tomorrow morning for the first time using this technique and I purchased quite a bit of stuff this week to prepare for it. 7’ Medium Action Spinning Rod with a nice Diawa Spinning reel, spooled up with 8LB Fluorocarbon line. I purchased the Gamagatzu Hooks and the Drop Shot Sinkers in the 5/16oz weight. I purchased a bunch of different types of baits, but I’m thinking these Berkley Gulp 4” Minnows may be the ticket.

Now, with all of that said, How long should I sit and shake the rod tip before I move it and start shaking again? What should I expect for the Bite? Will it like Rip it out of my hand or will I just feel weight? What is the Bite going to feel like?

What are your favorite lures to Drop Shot? What are you Favorite Colors?

Thanks in advance and It’s nice to be on this Board as well.
Mumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-11, 11:09 AM   #2
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144

In me experience it's tough to fish the dropshot wrong. I often cast it out and let it sit a little with just a bit of bow in my line. From there, I will shake it a bit and let it sit more. And repeat that a couple times before I move it and repeat. You definitely want to let the lure sit more than you are shaking it.