Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 01-07-08, 08:47 PM   #1
BigBassin144
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via AIM to BigBassin144
Default Teaching someone to fish.

Ok, since I'm getting tired of fishing by myself in the summer when my dad's at work or busy doing something else, I have decided I need to find me a fishing buddy. So for christmas I gave my little cousin an older Zebco rod/reel for christmas along with a small plano box filled with an assortment of lures, including crankbaits, lipless crankbaits, buzzbaits, spinnerbaits, in-line spinners and some hooks and weights for other-than-bass-fishing.

Now, I am not an expert in any of these lures/techniques. Since my cousing (who's 9 or 10 years old (I can't remember, that's sad)) has only fished onc ein his life before, I decided I should start with the basics of...... you guessed it.... casting! Since it's a spining outfit it should be too hard to teach him. I've got a practice plug to teach him with too.

What I was wondering was what do you guys think I should teach fisrt (after casting of course)? I was thinking either the buzzbaits or cranks since they are basically a chuck 'n reel kind of thing. or do you think I should start with live bait and teech him how to properly reel in a fish and so forth before we move to artificials.

I'm very confused as to where to start since I've never taught anyone how to fish before. (except my friend and we were using 16' cane poles so it doesn't count) My cousin is very inthused [sp?] about learning to fish and can't wait till spring so we can start.

I'd very much appreciate some good advice!

Thanks,
BB
Old 01-07-08, 09:45 PM   #2
lunker-lander
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Send a message via MSN to lunker-lander