Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 04-02-08, 01:18 PM   #1
sacco60
BassFishin.Com Member

Default New Need Help

I am new to lake fishing and I am going to a lake with my 4 year old son. The lake has bass, bluegills and sunnies. You are only allowed to fish from shore so please let me know from start to finish (if possible) what equiptment to use and how to do it. I am used to fishing from a boat in the ocean for much heavier fish and trolling off the back of boats. Any help you could give would be appreciated. Thank you all.
sacco60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-08, 02:22 PM   #2
RIP LIPPER
BassFishin.Com Member

Hello there sacco. I do alot of off shore and in shore salt water fishing also. Pretty new myself at lake fishing, but for what its worth heres my 2 cents. First I would go to wally world and buy some cheap spincast rod and reel combos(I say cheap if your only going once). Then I would get some plastic worms some offset shank hooks, and some small crimp lead wieghts. You could also pick up some small corks for the blue gill. Bass- tie the hook, rig the worm weedless(pics online if ya look) crimp on a wieght 18" up the line. Fish brush, weeds, trees in water. Weedless for your son will be great cause u might get to fish a little yourself do to no snags. Blue gill- same rod/reel put on cork, tie on hook, crimp wieght around 18" up. Need some crickets for this. Put on cricket, GO FISH! Short version but I'm sure more people will elaborate.Good Luck!!
RIP LIPPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-08, 05:19 PM   #3
bamabassman
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

earth worms and bobbers for the littl tyke. you'll be busy keeping him loaded with worms ifn you catching gills. great thing you're doing with your son. DON'T FORGET THE CAMERA!!!
bamabassman is offline   Reply With Quote