Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 09-08-10, 03:15 AM   #1
FishinFreak
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Setting the hook with plastics

I've been fishing with plastics for a long time. It's one of my favorite methods to fish. Even though I've been doing it for a long time I gotta say i'm no expert. Sometimes i think I'm not waiting long enough before I try to set the hook. When i feel a bite I try and set the hook. I know I should wait a few seconds but I get anxious and rip the line. How long is the average time to wait before setting the hook? I'd like to hear other peoples thoughts.
FishinFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-10, 06:09 AM   #2
Bassboss
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Hmm. it really depends on the kind of a bite it is. If it's like *tap tap tap* then that the bass sucking it in, so about a two or 3 second wait. If it's a big yank it's usually it grabbing the tail and running, so I'll wait about 4 or 5 seconds. With a weightless senko or wacky rig, 4 or 5 seconds again. A senko is wider bait, so it'll take a while for it to get it in. A wacky rig is (like a trick worm) is thin but the hook is in the middle, so you gotta wait a while unless it's a small 4" worm. With a 10" worm, I'll wait a good long time 6 to 7 seconds even!
Old 09-08-10, 06:57 AM   #3
keithdog

I don't really have a wait period. Once I detect a bite, I reel in the line untill it's tight and then send the hook home. Most of the time a bass is going to try to make fast work of swallowing it's prey. If however something just don't seem right to the bass it may spit it out and back in a couple times.
keithdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-10, 07:04 AM   #4
walkeraviator
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran